Friday, 22 August 2014

Movie Review: Maleficent (2014)

Movie Review: Maleficent (2014)



Plot:


There have been so many times when Walt Disney has changed the vision with which we see the world. How deeply we rely on it to fill our imaginations with the best chosen characters of the Fantasy Land and God when they add Angelina Jolie to it, we brace ourselves tight!

Maleficent is an old classic tale of sleeping beauty retold/reimagined in the best way. Directed by Robert Stromberg from a screenplay by Linda Woolverton, this movie has woven the epic villianess Maleficent in a dreamy new avatar.

It chases the classic plot of the fairy tale starting not from the Aurora’s christening frenzy but from Maleficent’s childhood, portraying her as a very strong fairy but a friendly one, lovable and playful resident of Moors.

Not afraid of Humans, she befriends a peasant boy and falls in love as they share their teenage years together. Stefan gives her the kiss of true love and leaves soon after to follow her ambition of becoming a King.

Maleficent goes on her with her life guarding the Moors as the most strongest fairy of all. The peace lefts the screen as the King approaches Moors to invade and is defeated badly by the ever-strong guardian fairy.
The king needs revenge and Stefan needs the throne, his dream makes him do the evil and he cuts off her wings and uses them as the key to the door of Royalty.



And then...comes the story we have known our whole life...More or Less!
Lets not spoil the Disney Wonder because what comes after is a hearty treat to those who will watch!
Why? Let me tell you a Story…

Review:


…Once upon a time Disney made a movie on the top most villian of all time, twisted her character and brought her to the light hence creating a hero out of her and gave the world a better version of ‘true love’s kiss’ , I say they pretty much nailed it!

As for the hype that was created for this movie it might have awoken some hope of watching a badass all actioned up Angelina Jolie in a wicked fairy’s attire as a cherry on top, but its not a dream come true for people with a evil hopes as the movie takes a sharp turn to the more feminine and loving side of a fairy who gives it up to the smile of a child she thought she hates. Well, to the viewers who find this movie un-entertaining; there are so many others with more darke and livid wickedness, might try some of ‘em!
This one is to add the fun to the family time.

The changes that are introduced into the movie are really interesting.

Though critics are complaining about the fantasy world of Moors being less colorful than the mainstream Disney productions but if you for once put the hopes of a colorful movie out of mind everything you see on the screen proves to be complimenting on and other!



Angelina Jolie has done a great job confusing Maleficent with the good gone bad gone good again thing! What else are you supposed to do when the kid you just put a curse on mistakes you with her fairy godmother! And specially when the kid’s so...umm cute! She totally put on plate a great performance. After watching this one, do mark the words ‘Maleficent becomes her’.

Now the princess, I am a wee bit disappointed on her expense in the movie. Okay so the princess has to smile a lot and look all cheesy but it becomes all too much to look at after a while and guiltily you wish that she wouldn't wake up giving away that way too cheesy smile again! She does well no doubt but a word that I regret to pen down hovers around my mind about her performance is ‘over’ as in ‘overdoing’ the Aurora part. But I’d love to take it as another princessy thing.

There is yet another member of cast I would like to appreciate(its not the King) that is Diaval, never was a crow so handsome and handy! Presentation of three little fairies as Aurora’s aunts was another hilarious addition. A little detail which would definitely nag the viewers was the myth of ‘the left wish of third fairy’ which they of course altered to aid the plot.



The scenic presentation of the fantasy land of Moors is not much like a fairyland but instead portrays a different kind of creatures inhabiting, closer to giants as you may say. It is acceptable much but it is quite insufficient.

At some points the story did go a bit off the beat but it quickly regains.
Its not the best animated movie you’ll ever see but there definitely is something  in it which is worth a watch!

On the whole this Movie is full of the Magic that is not produced by powers but the pure magic that Love bears.
Plan to watch this one with kids, Its a great one!



The whole thing about the fairy in distress and the innocence of Angelina’s expressions disarms me.
I will rate this one with a hearty
***1/2

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!

Follow me on Twitter: Kelly2Cutrone
Like my Facebook Page: Best Reviewed Movies


keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Thursday, 24 July 2014

Official Trailer : Fifty Shades Of Grey (2015)

Official Trailer : Fifty Shades Of Grey (2015)




The wait is all over and they are here!

The trailer of the blockbuster novel by E.L James is adapted by director Sam Taylor-Johnson and they made the characters of the book alive. If you judge the movie with the trailer, ITS AMAZING! Bulls Eye!

As the Trailer takes start with the interview part where Ana and Grey met for the first time and all the other parts clearly shows that it is a full adaptation from scene to scene of the novel which will shun out to be the biggest plus point for this movie. Its on top of my list of "Movies i want to watch in 2015" for sure!

The film stars Dakota Johnson (which was last seen in Need for Speed) will take the charge of Mr.Grey's interest as Anastasia Steele. The wait is over ladies cause Christian Grey is here! In the form of Jamie Dornan ( who was the lead in The Fall ) . Expectations are damn high Mr.Grey! Dont let us down.

The Trailer Shows the First meeting , the helicopter ride & why is this novel famous for "Blindfolds and Kinky Scenes". This Movie will surely be every couples first choice for the Valentines for sure! Actually its a treat for them. So, Valentines 2015 is going to be hot as hell because !

"We Aim To Please"

Thanks!

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Friday, 18 July 2014

Movie Review : Black Swan (2010)

Movie Review : Black Swan (2010)


Plot:

Black Swan is an outstanding psychological thriller film by Darren Aronofsky.
Its a movie depicting a ballet dancer (Natalie Portman) craving to get a part in a play The Swan Lake as the main lead of The Swan Queen. She is perfect to be cast as the simple pure White Swan but lacks the dark side of her twin the Black Swan. She is extremely desperate to get the role and loses herself to reach the summit of perfection, to transform herself into the the dark one. Princess Odette becomes her dark twin Odile but not near any swan lake, right in the city of NY. The movie is basically about the psyche of the young ballerina Nina who is up for the challenge life has brought to her with her very first encounter to sensuality and the dread of not being the part of it. 

She takes off the mask of a good girl and hoes intimate with her competitor breaking every rule, but this this all turns out to be her dream. The play leaves an impact on her mind and she hallucinates the dark side of herself doing evil things to her body but soon she gives up to the reality of her dream and becomes complete by achieving her darkness and turning into a Black Swan.



The movie has a plot revolving around the famous ballet play The Swan Lake and also uses the mythical concept of a doppelganger.
Black Swan was an extreme hit and highly appreciated by the critics. Also won the lead, Natalie Portman, an academy award for her outstanding performance.

Review:


The only person standing in your way is you.

Everything about this movie is as classy as a Swan. The epitome of perfection comes from the flawless acting and mindly direction combined.
The film turned out to be a psychosexual thriller as it unwrapped.
There is something terribly mystic about this movie as it grabs attention from portraying a wrong angle of things going on around but its the anguish and ultimate frenzy which makes it wonderful.
The performances were utterly unexpected. Natalie Portman actually turned her character 360 degrees to fit into the plot as the result we get to see Odile taking birth from Odette. She deserved an Oscar which she got! 



Mila Kunis was in her sexy fiery element there. She was all a bold black swan would be like!
Black Swan doesn’t contain a kind of genre which is likeable to many but it does have small things that every audience (Adults only) might wanna talk about. The movie isn’t all fantasy ballerina story which actually disappointed some but it is about the transformation and realization of an inner force. It was a risk taken by the director who created an idealistic atmosphere for a movie which could raise brows but the terrific presence of crafty yet creative art beats everything!
By the end you are ready to scream:

I felt it. Perfect. I was perfect.

I liked The Ballerinas with a Twist so I wouldn’t hesitate rating it a whole:
****

Reviewed by : Adina Farid



keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Movie Review : The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

Movie Review : The Silence of the Lambs (1991)


Plot:

The Silence of the Lambs is an American thriller directed by Jonathan Demme and is based on a Thomas Harris Novel of the same kind. It is the second novel depicting the infamous Dr. Hannibal Lecter.
The movie was released in 1991 and is to date considered top class horror by its audience and world critics.
Director has however made some important changes to the main plot of the novel and shown a new perspective.
Clarice Starling is an FBI trainee sent to a violent psychopath Hannibal the Cannibal for help, upon finding her interesting he unveils some dog-eared pages of history to Clarice which would help her save senator’s daughter from the raging Buffalo Bill, only thing she has to do is to link the scattered pieces of information together.



Everything goes smooth until Dr. Hannibal is taken from his asylum to a Tennessee to help the senator himself without Clarice in between. He fleds the cage killing a few people and goes into a title hideout.
Will Clarice be able to decipher the information she poured out of Dr. Lecter, ultimately saving the day?
The changes that director brought into the story of book are of major character. Totally skipping some most important details from the plot did affect the theme of the movie but even after that it remains chartbuster and Oscar winning! Wonder why? Lets get deep into it.


Review:

Some bits of many reasons why you might Love The Silence of the Lambs: 

About The Cast: Casting Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter and getting the best out of him is a victory for the movie. If there was someone who could play the creepy manhunter in the same eerie and mysterious yet heroistic style it would be none other than him. He was the first Oh! factor of the movie and from the very first scene he’s stuck to mind, getting ready some nice material for tonight’s nightmare. Then there is Jodie Foster as Clarice Starling. The first look of the pretty lady takes you back to the book (if you’ve read it) and rings the bell of perfection in your ear. The look throughout the movie was in accordance to the book. The performance was even more toned. 



At some points however the point of boldness in Clarice slips out of Foster’s hand but she gains it back as the movie proceeds. She created the sense of delicacy as well as bravery which her role completely demanded. Clarice’s shoes were a total fit to Jodie and so she was my favorite and i prefer her over Julianne Moore who played Clarice in the sequel. Now the villain, Ted Levine as Buffalo Bill was another step towards making this movie a huge one. He transformed himself into the psycho serial killer who kills victims for a very different motive. The mood that he adds to the movie with first class acting and that voice!

The Competitive Advantage: Amongst thousand horror and thriller, this one remains on top for so many years. The superiority that it has over others is the impeccable storyline, remarkable creepiness of the anti-hero, a very rare kind of serial killer, screaming spring lambs and their savior, the quid pro quo, the basement, huge girls who need to apply lotions and the screen which shows all this in a flow of events which prints into mind like an unpleasant memory yet some well spent wealth! This movie is no-prisoner-held in order of its brutal scenes and uncomfortable moments. After adding Anthony Hopkins to all this, What else do we need?



But not everything is as flawless as it looks. There is a caution for the ones who are watching it after reading the book: You won’t find The Video of Mama in it along with many small yet important details such as Catherine Martin’s room sweep by Starling and her convo with Senator, the story of the head in the jar is also manipulated and there is no sailor who was killed in exotic sexual intercourse instead the head belongs to Benjamin Raspail who ‘wasn’t’ killed by Dr. Lecter. And now the most important one; No Maroon Eyes for Hannibal!!!!
With all the above stuff missing the movie becomes a little disappointing for book nerds but remains a big favorite and watch-over-again flick! But if you haven’t read the book first it’s just breath-takingly good!

The movie has won multiple Oscars and is without any ado a number one thriller.



I felt the adrenaline rush and chills run through my body during the whole movie and it just reached the epitome in finale.
For the sake of the effect those cold blue eyes of Hannibal had on me, 
I would rate it as:
****1/2

Reviewed by : Adina Farid

Thanks for reading!!
keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Wednesday, 2 July 2014

Movie Review : The Fault In Our Stars (2014)

 Movie Review : The Fault In Our Stars (2014)


Plot: 

-“Life doesn’t have to be perfect for love to be extraordinary.”

The Fault in Our Stars is a 2014 American romantic comedy-drama film directed by Josh Boone, based on the novel of the same name by John Green. The film stars Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, and Nat Wolff, with Laura Dern, Sam Trammell, and Willem Dafoe in supporting roles. Woodley plays Hazel Grace Lancaster, a sixteen-year-old cancer patient who is forced by her parents to attend a support group, where she subsequently meets and falls in love with Augustus Waters, portrayed by Ansel Elgort.



Movie Review:

Note: If you think this is another chick-flick, a stupid perverted rom-com or a depressing story about cancer, ATTENTION: IT ISN’T.


Being a true fan of John Green’s ‘The Fault’, I was looking forward to its movie adaptation with great anticipation. And this movie is just spot on. Josh Boone was successful to bring out the essence of the book on the big screen in the right manner. The actors portraying the characters were utterly perfect and had a great understanding about their roles. I’ll start by talking about the rising enigma i.e. Shailene Woodley (known for her lead role in “Divergent”). She plays the terminally-ill Hazel Grace like no one else could have & makes me see Hazel in a new light. I greatly appreciate the qualities Hazel possesses of empathy, kindness, wit and no-nonsense attitude. I laughed with her, I cried with her & most of all, I understood her. That is what a protagonist is supposed to make you feel like and she did her job well. 

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.”



Now, my favorite character i.e. Augustus Waters, who is portrayed by the new and talented actor Ansel Elgort (seen in “Carrie” and “Divergent”). I am just biased when it comes to him. First of all, I am irrevocably in love with Augustus Waters; secondly, Ansel is just so cute and charming like a peacock in this role..that I cannot even describe it to the best of my capabilities. He’s just adorable. *Sigh* He came in Hazel’s life and changed it forever, likewise he changed mine too.

“You don't get to choose if you get hurt in this world...but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”

 Here’s a fun fact:
Ansel Elgort who played Shailene’s brother in Divergent is her “Epic love” in this movie. Yes, that’s right! Believe me, this movie isn’t awkward at all but seeing them as siblings in Divergent definitely was.

So I was talking about Ansel/Gus. He did his role of a pretentious ,dramatic ,metaphor-believing witty, and funny Augustus with utmost perfection. But when it came to cute, vulnerable, loving, caring , and emotional Augustus, he broke all the dams that were holding my tears back. I literally cried. I won’t give any spoilers though. Those who have read the book know what I am talking about and those who haven’t should a) READ IT! What are you waiting for? It’s a thin book with a roller coaster of emotions. & b) after reading the book, watch the movie! Because this is among the best book adaptations ever.

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”



Then the cute/blind best friend Isaac is played by Natt Wolff. He is a great comic-relief in this movie. I loved how naturally he said all his lines like a normal person does, but I wish he had more scenes just like in the book. He was great though.& so was Hazel’s mom, played by Laura Dern .She reminded me of my own mom. Hazel’s father, Patrick from support-group & last and the least (pun intended) Peter van Houten were all like a fragmentation of my imagination put into reality.

“It's a metaphor, see: You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don't give it the power to do its killing.”-Augustus

The soundtrack of this movie is equally entertaining and is on repeat on my playlist. ‘All of the Stars’ by Ed Sheeran captures the soul of the entire movie. “All I Want” by Kodaline with its beautiful lyrics capture the tragic element and if you are looking for a peppy-teen number, listen to ‘Boom Clap’ by Charli XCX. ‘Let Me In’ by Grouplove is another good one.

Thank you John Green for bestowing the world with your acerbic wit in the form of Fault and thank you Josh Boone for making it soo perfect.
In a nutshell, this movie is worth every smile, every tear, every laugh. Watch it with your bffs or alone and have the time of your life. Okay? Okay.

“Oh, I wouldn't mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”
-Augustus

This movie is worth all the hype it is creating and is already my favourite romantic movie. I’ll rate it with: 
*****

Reviewed by Fouzia Umer


keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Monday, 9 June 2014

Movie Review : Step Up 4 (2014)

Movie Review : Step Up 4 (2014)



Plot:

Step Up Revolution also known as Step Up: Miami Heat is the fourth installment in the Step Up series. It’s a 3D Dance movie directed by John M. Chu.
Just like the past movie this one is also based on dancing for a change.
 ‘The Mob’ is flash mob which performs dancing acts on the street and other places of Miami and becomes very famous, however the members remain unidentified.
Emily is the daughter of a big building tycoon but has an obsessive interest for dance and declines to go further with any more corporate studies.
Sean is the leader of mob and works in Dinmont Hotel as waiter. He and his crew are locals of a Miami slum. He meets Emily and is soon they both become friends. Sean introduces Emily to the Mob and she asks to join them for the next act. She does pretty well and is welcomed whole-heartedly in the club Mob.
Soon enough the news gets out that Emily’s father Bill Anderson plans to deconstruct their slum. The Mob flinches at the news but they don’t know Emily’s ID and decide to go on with her plan of performing a protesting act at the next town meeting held for the deconstruction of slum.



Later when it doesn’t bring any change they find out about Emily’s real ID and plan a dangerous mob without her resulting in arrest of the members.
After they are bailed out, Bill announces to build a community instead of a plaza.
The movie ends with past Step Up stars joining up for an outstanding dance act.

Review:


This movie can be considered as the best of Step Up series till date.
The dance which is the central idea for the movie is more than just great. The acts are stupendously well performed and the tracks are just love to the ears.
Talk about the characters in it, Ryan Guzman and Kathryn McCormick show us an extraordinary chemistry there. The acting is above average but dance beats every flaw in that movie.



Now the mobs: the movie takes it start with a street mob, oh! what they did with the cars there makes you gasp and with every change of music you wanna get up to your feet and that is just a starter! The protest mob is a feast to eyes! The corporate dancing figures were just awesome, the placid faces moving identically to the beat were commendable. The restaurant mob is favorite.
This flick has a flat seen-before kind of a plot but the dance keeps the spirit up. Obviously when you go for a movie like Step Up would you like to decorate the screen other than dance.
It is fancy bright-colored movie which doesn’t let the entertainment factor go down the meter. It doesn’t demand any effort to understand the script and use your brain to decipher the drama but simply serves you with heartwarming acts and deep beauty of dance.

I just loved Kathryn’s dance act on ‘I wanna dance without you’ and enjoy it everytime its on the screen so for me this movie deserves
***⅕

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!
keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Sunday, 8 June 2014

Movie Review: Oculus (2014)

Movie Review: Oculus (2014)



Plot: 

Oculus is an American horror film released in April 2014. Directed by Mike Flanagan.
It is based on a story of two siblings trying to destroy the evil entity residing in an antique mirror which 11 years earlier killed their parents.
Alan and Marie Russell bring home an antique mirror for decoration. Right after that they both experience supernatural episodes in their house; Alan being locked in his office spending secretive time with a girl named Marisol who has mirrors in place of eyes and Marie who feels her body slowly decaying.
The kids are quite concerned and terrified by their parents fighting at night and acting weird. This goes on for a while and turns into a serious situation when Marie loses herself and attempts to kill Tim. However, he is saved and their father then chains Marie to their bedroom wall and refuses calling help.



Kids also try to reach help but they can’t. One night Alan, possessed by the entity in mirror, unchains Marrie and both of them attack the kids. While strangling Kaylie, Marie comes back to her consciousness and is shot dead by Alan. He then forces Tim to kill himself.
Eleven years later Kaylie gets hold of the mirror again and tries to destroy it but her actions are wasted as the mirror plays trick on their minds and makes Tim kill Kaylie.
In the end while Tim is forced in car by the police he sees Kaylie join the other victims of the Mirror.


Review:

Oculus is a psychological horror which has well directed freak shots and a dull and silly story.
The movie takes power from the outstanding performances of actors and is all in all a must watch for horror lovers. But the more you go deep into it the more you realise the fact that the movie is more psychological than horror. It leaves you dubious at one point and you start looking for the evidence to prove to its supernatural worth.
However, with the plot being silly this movie brings out the screams that are obligatory for a horror flick and the ghosts are very ghostly, too. So cheers to the visuals!



The one thing that will definitely disturb the heck out is the unexplained and incomplete ending. Surely director had to leave the room for following sequels.
The crazy part is that Oculus sticks to the mind like a chewing gum not because of the ghost and stuff but for its successful attempt of messing up with the mind of viewers.
The movie is more like a breath of fresh air in the street of haunting flicks as the story is not another house-haunt! The Mirror element is strong and mysterious enough to be focused in the next one.

I liked the looks of mirror-eyed ghosts so I would rate this awkward yet horror movie
***
Reviewed by Adina Farid


Thanks!!

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Friday, 6 June 2014

Movie Review : Confessions Of A Shopaholic (2009)

Movie Review : Confessions Of A Shopaholic (2009)



Plot:

“Life would be a lot easier if conversations were rewindable and erasable, like videos."

An American comedy film based on a series of novels by the author Sophie Kinsella, Confessions of a shopaholic is kind of an autobiography of a hopeless shopaholic Rebecca Bloomwood.
She is crazy about clothes and stuff and crosses every limit to and spends every penny to rob the shops off their collection.
The movie is a series of events which come into her life making her a writer for the magazine ‘Successful Savings’ following an auction of her clothes to pay debt and finally meeting the love of life. But the thing is, its not all that straight as it sounds. After all its Sophie Kinsella meets Isla Fisher movie!
Its a must must watch for comedy lovers. Who wouldn’t like an hour of uninterrupted ShopaholicNess and not so fluent Finnish!

“Shopping is actually very similar to farming a field. You can't keep buying the same thing, you have to have a bit of variety. Otherwise you get bored and stop enjoying yourself.” 


Review:


“I love new clothes. If everyone could just wear new clothes everyday, I reckon depression wouldn’t exist anymore.” 

This movie is for those who are into fun without wearing the heavy critical eyes of a very professional cinematographic owl!
I mean, for once let us all laugh at what Isla Fisher has done to the previously awesome novel. What has she done? Pure Justice. She was in her element and did every scene effortlessly. She can bring the laugh out of even the grumpy one.
The movie really is a secret garden for shopaholics as to feast the eyes with fancy items and is much more entertaining than the poster suggest.
This movie to me is like a many times watch. The idea of ‘The Girl in the Green Scarf’ is very interesting as well as fresh.



Not only a comical view of a shopaholic, but an educational one too.

This movie is just perfect to release the steam of a busy stressful week and give yourself some nice laugh therapy.

“I mean, when I think about it, what's more important? Clothes - or the miracle of new life?” 

I will rate this branded comedy with
***½

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Thursday, 5 June 2014

Movie Review: Highway (2014)

Movie Review: Highway (2014)



Plot:

Written and directed by Imtiaz Ali, Highway is an Indian film released in 2014 with high hopes and expectations towards Imtiaz’s story and A.R Rahman’s music.
Its a movie about a rich urban girl Veera Tripathi (Alia Bhatt) whose accidentally kidnapped a day before her wedding. As her captors come to know the truth about her father’s power and sources they panic. However, Mahabir Bhati (Randeep Hooda) would not let it slip easily from his hands and is all set to antagonize her family in order to avenge his hate towards the rich.
Everything that comes later on to the screen unfolds the extraordinary characters stuck into a situation which is unlikely but true.



By abducting Veera Mahabir has originally set her free. She is not afraid of her captor, instead she lives a life full of adventures and far from the heavy curtains of class oriented family which gave her nothing more than a troubled childhood. On the other hand Mahabir is a poor deprived village boy who saw his own mother being molested by a rich officer and bears only hate for the rich.
The movie is a clash of two different worlds but it flatly leaves the anomalies behind and creates a world of raw fantasy as the truck moves forward exploring the beauties of Highway.


Review:

Highway sends us home with an urge to live life in its purest form. To take off the mask of an urbanite and be free for at least once in life.

Imtiaz Ali has created a movie which is all slow serene and raw to its fullest, if you go with the critics you might not want to admit that aven after the low ratio of high pitched entertainment this movie is better than many. Highway is perfect as it is. Its not a typical lovestory, to be honest its a kind of cinema which has created two opinions. Its simplicity and unhurried details are a beauty to eyes. Highway cannot be considered as a streamlined road movie or a previously witnessed romantic thriller, it is a whole new experience on a long highway all the way up to the mountains.



If the best thing about movie is asked, there lies one name on top of everything that is Alia Bhatt. She was born to play Veera Tripathi. The life that she brought to the character is genuine. No matter how badly Karan Johar spoiled her acting skills in the good for nothing ‘Student Of The Year’ Alia managed to throw it all back with her outstanding performance of a girl who’s real, who doesn’t need any makeover to feed on to, who is wild, soft and raw at the same time. A thousand thumbs up and hats off to her!
Randeep Hooda as Mahabir Bhati was a hit choice by the director as he never leaves the feel of his character and the Haryanvi boy accent is commendable. All in all Mahabir becomes him!
The second best thing of Highway is the precious pure and perfect music! The duo of Imtiaz Ali and A.R Rahman striked again with a blow of chartbusting tracks like Patakha Guddi and Maahi Ve. Rahman also used the local folk singers they met on the way which adds to the feel of the movie. Cherry on top is a lullaby sung by Pakistani pop singer Zeb Bangash and Alia Bhatt called Sooha Saha.
It was frequently said that Highway is an unbelievable story, far from possibility. But what do they know about the strange things that happen on the way. Life is all about coincidence. Either we accept it or not Strange Things Do Happen.



Highway has the kind of happy ending we seldom see.
This movie is a must watch.

I neither want to go back to the place from where you brought me, nor to the place where you are going to take me, but this road is very good, i don't want to leave it.” 

I loved the journey, so I will without any hesitation rate this movie:
****

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Wednesday, 4 June 2014

Book Review: If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern


Book Review: If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern


Plot:

“We do not need magic to transform our world. We carry all of the power we need inside ourselves already.” 


A magical tale by one of the best creator of fiction love Cecelia Ahern.
‘If you could see me now’ is about Elizabeth who’s serious responsible and stuck in a small romantic Irish town, which bears not a hinge of interest for the placid-thinking Elizabeth, with her 6 year old nephew Luke.
The abandonment of her free-spirited mother in early age has made her look and think far from her age while on the other hand Saoirse, her younger sister, is replica of her mother. She left her newborn son in charge of Elizabeth and left to live life to its fullest, though she comes back time to time in her life for favors.
Then there is Ivan, he is and isn’t at the same time, well the hero (My most favorite of all other fictitious heroes) is an imaginary friend.
Ivan is a citizen of the Imaginary World where there are fairies and friends always present to help disturbed children. But as the tale proceeds its not only Luke who needs a friend.
Ivan soon realises that Elizabeth can feel his presence, the more she gets deep into depression the she feels him. At last there comes time when she could see him but not as Luke’s imaginary friend. They both go out and spend time together changing and transforming each other, completing themselves. Elizabeth smiles down to the life that she had around her forever, she allows herself to finally feel the pull of love thats greater than gravity.



At that point the task that was given to Ivan is complete. He has done what he was sent for, mending the lives of his friends. Opal, Ivan’s boss feels the change in him and reminds him that their Love is as imaginary as him.
Eventually there comes a time when Elizabeth stops seeing Ivan and he is again invisible to her (a major heartbreak).
Somehow they both carry on with their lives, transformed into something better,
But Elizabeth Remains His Favorite Friend.

“Don't ever take for granted when people look in your eyes; you have no idea how important it is to be acknowledged. Even if it's an angry stare, because it's when they ignore you, when they look right through you, that you should start worrying.” 

Review:

“I think I wished for you all of my life.”

The Happily Ever After is not what you expect but here it comes in a style that only Ahern can write.
If you could see me now is something beyond words. The love and the feel of this outstanding book is everlasting. The fiction within the fiction is so real that makes you believe the stories of childhood and relive them with a new dimension.

This book is special, as special as every small moment of happiness in life is. This book is not about Elizabeth or Ivan, but this is a story of how angels are sent down to bring people back to life. It is lovestory that doesn’t need any place or time to survive, only a moment of realisation will do.



If I let go without writing about the moment of separation, it remains incomplete. Ahern has given words to the feel of leaving your loved one alone and watching them as they go on with their lives, living the dreams that you saw together. It is that time when you wish that They could see you now,


The air of magical romance of a small Irish town mixed up with an unforgettable Lovestory that one can ever get hands on to,

“If you love something, let it go. if it was meant to be, it will come back to you.” 

I left my heart in the last page of the book where Ivan watches Elizabeth and Luke happy with their lives.
So I would rate this epic tale:
*****

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!
keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Tuesday, 3 June 2014

Book Review : The Other Side Of Midnight by Sidney Sheldon

Book Review : The Other Side Of Midnight
by Sidney Sheldon


Plot:

Novel by one of World’s favorite storyteller, Sidney Sheldon. This epic tale is a story of two women born far away from each other but linked closely by fate. One of them being the most beautiful powerful and wild Noelle Page and the other being the smart brainy and unaware of the mysteries that beauty and sexuality beholds, Catherine Alexander.


Noelle has a tough start to life as she struggles to become something she thinks she is. On the way road to success, moving past/with different men she finds the one who’s ‘the one’ the American RAF pilot Lawrence "Larry" Douglas.

She has a nice warm affair with him but soon he leaves her, alone and pregnant, dressed up for wedding.
She then swears on her life to take everything away from Larry which would quench the thirst of her rage starting from his unborn child.



Larry meets Catherine and gets married to her soon after. This is when Noelle meets the Powerful Constantin Demiris (Costa) and finds her way to go to the extreme limit and destroy everything. Everything. Including herself.

Review:


“If you don't know why, I could never explain it to you.”


Written by the pen of Sheldon, this one beholds a tale of deception and rage which eventually results in doom. One of the great thing about this book is the drama and theme of it. The strong storyline and bewitching characters may be a part of fiction but never once you feel them far from reality or you don’t want them to be.
The character of Noelle Page is the protagonist. She has a different nature, the one you would want to know more about. Sidney creates an aura of mystery around her and even when she does evil you can not disagree to her moves keeping in mind all that she had to bear. the rise and fall in her career is a mirror to a struggler’s life.
The story is different. Theme is fantastic and to sum it up this book is a must read.


“To be successfull you need friends and to be very successfull you need enemies.” 


I would give this one of my two introductory books of Sidney Sheldon (the other being ‘Stars shine down)
a whole-hearted:

****1/2

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!


keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Monday, 2 June 2014

TV Series Review : One Tree Hill

TV Series Review : One Tree Hill


Plot:

One of the longest running American Drama series, the one to die for, One Tree Hill is originally a story of one’s belonging. Its is about a place call Tree Hill and the not so ordinary citizens.

The series started with the focal point of rivalry between two half brothers Lucas and Nathan Scott and soon became high school teenage tale of America’s most famous teenagers; the most beautiful gorgeous & Lucas’s Pretty Girl Brooke Davis, the smart but confused yet the most desirable Peyton Sawyer, the tutor girl meets the funny meets the hot and honest friend Haley James and her Basketball star bf Nathan Scott, last but not least the storyteller Lucas Scott.

The series went on and on from that point focusing numerous love affairs, crazy and unforgettable new characters, brilliant basketball players, evil dads, gorgeous designers, uncountable heartbreaks, peppy rock stars and all the way down to the cute next generation of Tree Hill teens: Jamie Scott (Haley & Nathan’s son).

To sum up the 10 years of successful run there is only one statement One Tree Hill doesn't focus exclusively on the teenagers, but also stretches out to include dedicated subplots for their parents and other adults.


Review: 


You ever heard the expression “the best things in life are free”? Well, that expression is true. Every once in a while, people step up they rise above themselves…sometimes they surprise you and sometimes they fall short. Life is funny sometimes.

The characters in this drama series are unique attracting and different. Somehow we get to see the youth of the new world and how it evolves from the high school routine life to the exposure of practical world. Some survive this evolution while some remain tied to the roots of home front. The Series showed us Brooke Davis & Haley getting everything they want and also Peyton Sawyer fighting the troubled family setting. 

Then to the male characters we saw Lucas & Nathan on the road to success with a ton of turmoils. About the adult cast the evil dad Dan Scott is a constant villain while Deb struggles her way out of a troublesome marriage. It is a series that survived too long and enjoyed full interest of audience. It leaves memories and moments that are worthwhile.



One Tree Hill is tv’s most loved shows ever. The music, the story everything is upto expectations. Its a dreamland, a wish for a perfect teen life. It attracts every kind of audience with the story that it conveys.

There is no reason to rate it any less than five stars and every reason to watch it again and again, the story of never ending friendship never becomes old, the songs have an ever lasting aura.
So yes, a straight:

*****

Reviewed by Adina Farid

Thanks!!

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Saturday, 31 May 2014

Book Review : The Silence Of The Lambs by Thomas Harris

Book Review : The Silence Of The Lambs 

by Thomas Harris


Plot:


Clarice Starling, the young and smart FBI trainee is called up to present a psychological research related questionnaire to the brilliant psychiatrist as well as a cannibalistic murderer Dr. Hannibal Lecter.
The real intention being assistance in the most recent killer hunt who has tried to escape every FBI trap and is continuously murdering girls to make a hide out of their skin. Buffalo Bill is a complete anonymous as he leaves no sign of evidence after getting complete with his victims and disposing them in river.
However Jack Crawford, Clarice’s boss knows it well that Hannibal Lecter knows more than much about the out and about of Buffalo Bill and uses the smart mouth trainee Clarice who soon becomes an integral part of this case to trick Lecter into uttering out truth.

The book is more surprising and full of 440 volts shock waves and unravels like a flower in our minds. It is raw but interesting just like moths.


Review:


“Over this odd world, this half the world that's dark now, I have to hunt a thing that lives on tears.” 

There is no doubt in this novel being one of the most greatest horror thriller ever written.
The theme of this novel is one of the most unusual kind but never fails the reality. The drama and mystery that it creates is like a thick fog which almost leaves you paralysed to go back to the real world until you’ve read the very end.
It would be an understatement to say that this book leaves an impact on mind because it certainly becomes the favorite of every thriller you ever read.

“Problem-solving is hunting; it is savage pleasure and we are born to it.” 



This book is a deep study of human psychology which insists that we work hard and wish to go to any level to solve a query which refers to the ghosts of our past and a solution to which will result in the Silence of the screams that we hear everyday in our mind.

“The intimacy of the detail - why The Silence of the Lambs is quite possibly the Thriller Writer's bible.” 

This book is pure addiction, silenced my lambs!

So I’d be too mean to rate it any less.
*****

Reviewed by Adina Farid

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Thursday, 29 May 2014

Official Trailer : This Is Where I Leave You (2014)

Official Trailer : This Is Where I Leave You (2014)


Okay, we'll give credit to "This Is Where I Leave You" for the cast the film has assembled. Who could argue with Jane Fonda, Tina Fey, Jason Bateman, Rose Byrne, Adam Driver, Kathryn Hahn, Corey Stoll, Connie Britton, Ben Schwartz, Timothy Olyphant, Aaron Lazar, Debra Monk, Abigail Spencer and Dax Shepard being in the same movie together? It's just a shame its one as generic as this.

The first trailer for the Shawn Levy directed movie has arrived and it hits every cliché on the dramedy branch. Based on the novel by Jonathan Tropper, the story follows a huge family who came together to bond/mourn following a major death, and of course, learn stuff about life. 



So this means you'll get a scene of two people sitting on a roof having an important intimate conversation, boob jokes, sex being heard by lots of people on a baby monitor and other similar scenes you've seen in other movies over the years. Maybe it all adds up to something more?

Find out on September 12th.

Source : Indie Wire

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Saturday, 24 May 2014

Official Trailer : Kingsman : The Secret Service

Official Trailer : Kingsman : The Secret Service


Behold the first trailer for X-Men: First Class and Kick-Ass director Matthew Vaughn's next comic book movie, Kingsman: The Secret Service. The 20th Century Fox film is based on the Mark Millar graphic novel The Secret Service.

The movie stars Colin Firth, Michael Caine, Taron Egerton, and Samuel L. Jackson. Here's the official synopsis: "Kingsman: The Secret Service tells the story of a super-secret spy organization that recruits an unrefined but promising street kid into the agency’s ultra-competitive training program just as a global threat emerges from a twisted tech genius."

Kingsman: The Secret Service opens October 24.

keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"

Friday, 23 May 2014

Book Review : The Geography Of You And Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Book Review : The Geography Of You And Me 

by Jennifer E. Smith





“And this is the wonder that's keeping the stars apart 
I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)” -- E.E. Cummings

Book Synopsis:

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they're rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.
Lucy and Owen's relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and -- finally -- a reunion in the city where they first met.
A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith's new novel shows that the center of the world isn't necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.


Review:

I started reading this book online today and completed it right now. There's something about this book that is addictive; I just couldn't stop reading it once I started. There was instantly something so simple, sweet and adorable about the entire scenario, getting stuck in a lift with someone, and how those few seconds’ difference could have made the biggest of changes, yet Lucy and Owen were such realistic characters, and they brought this naive and spontaneous nature to themselves that made the story what it was. There's something kind of wonderful about the thought of meeting someone in a lift, and being stuck with them and their company throughout what should have been one of the most scary experiences of somebody's life, and to then share that moment for a whole night, in the middle of a New York City blackout with defrosting ice cream and a sky full of stars, is just magical. Smith managed to make the whole thing so believable and almost like a conscious thought that I was so lost and wrapped up in the whole story from chapter one; I couldn't have asked for anything better.
Their story, written across the globe in miles and postcards, via lakes and rivers, from New York to the hills of Edinburgh, the Point Zero in Paris, London, the seaport of Seattle, right back to New York, to the night they met, for me, couldn't have been more perfect. 



It covered the aspect of growing away from people, moving on with life, taking what live throws at you, living your dreams and how your dreams aren't always what you want in the end. Something about family, the difference between having someone and not having someone, having something, somewhere, a part of you lost everywhere you've been and being happy with it. Owen and Lucy grew so much as people, growing as they learnt from their wrong relationships, growing into themselves and the journeys they took over nine months, growing as they learnt from each others’ lessons, and growing to meet each other once more.

There was something so honest and perfect about this story, something so sweet and lovable, something so amazing about trekking across the world to find that home isn't a place, it's a person, and a feeling, a pull to something better.

Some Great Quotes From the Book:

• “He was like one of her novels, still unfinished and best understood in the right place and at the right time. She already couldn’t wait to read the rest.”

•“Sometimes it seemed as if his whole life was an exercise in waiting; not waiting to leave, exactly, but simply waiting to go. He felt like one of those fish that had the capacity to grow in unimaginable ways if only the tank were big enough. But his tank had always been small, and as much as he loved his home- as much as he loved his family- he'd always felt himself bumping up against the edges of his own life.”



• “But there's no such thing as a completely fresh start. Everything new arrives on the heels of something old, and every beginning comes at the cost of an ending.”

•“There's a difference between loneliness and solitude.”

This book seems to be quite underrated but it took me places, and I enjoyed in the simplicity it offered.

 I’ll rate it with:
****
Reviewed by Fouzia Umer


My Facebook Page: 
Follow me on Twitter: 
Follow me on GooglePlus : 




keep reading ~~~~ keep commenting ~~~~ keep sharing"